Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce Announces 2020 SABEX Award Recipients

SASKATOON, SK – Award recipients were announced this evening at the 25th Annual Saskatoon Achievement in Business Excellence Awards (SABEX ) held at TCU Place. Produced and hosted by the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce and presented by Conexus Credit Union, the SABEX Awards is a celebration of the exceptional businesses growing and operating in the Saskatoon region. Award winner recipients announced include the Business of the Year, Community Involvement, Customer Service, Entrepreneur of the Year, Growth & Expansion, Marketing, New Business, “Saskatooning” and the prestigious RBC SABEX Hall of Fame. The SABEX Awards are open to all private sector (non-governmental) enterprises based in Saskatoon and district, whether large or small. All applications were forwarded to KPMG for initial sorting and processing. Applications from each of the various categories were then delivered to independent and anonymous judging panels. Judges were secured by one member of the Project Team Committee and shall remain anonymous. As a result of COVID-19, this year’s SABEX Awards moved from the April scheduled date, tasking the Chamber to reimagine the shaping of this professionally organized event. The challenge involved providing a way to gather successfully with valued engagement within the safety protocols. Working with ingenuity and in collaboration with Saskatoon’s highly-skilled hospitality and tourism industry, the Chamber delivered a memorable, safe and unique 25th annual SABEX Awards. “Thank you to our generous and professional 2020 SABEX Committee for its fine work,” said Silvia Martini, Interim CEO, Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce. “A warm congratulations to this year’s SABEX Award recipients. They have each demonstrated perseverance and innovation, particularly during these unprecedented times. The Chamber is very proud of their and our business community’s resilience and accomplishments.”

The 2020 SABEX Winner Recipients are as follows:


Business of the Year (Sponsored by Edwards School of Business):
A business which has demonstrated excellence in the areas they consider key to their success. The winning business will have stated their critical success factors and clearly demonstrated how they have achieved meeting their goals for these factors.

Shercom Industries


Community Involvement (Sponsored by SaskTel Internet):
Awarded to a business demonstrating exceptional performance in support of the arts, culture, amateur sports, education, or volunteer groups.

Wiegers Financial & Benefits


Customer Service (Sponsored by Co-op Saskatoon):
Awarded to a business demonstrating exceptional customer service (wholesale and retail trade, purchasing and distribution, transportation, brokering, professional service, communications, and financial).

Donald Physiotherapy


Entrepreneur of the Year (Sponsored by Conexus Credit Union):
Awarded to a person(s) who has/have established or expanded a business. It is important the Entrepreneur(s) has/have demonstrated signs of success and viability in the venture.

Saskatoon Salsa Dance Company


Growth & Expansion (Sponsored by Nutrien):
Awarded to a business which has made significant changes resulting in ‘growth’ or ‘expansion’ of 15% or more of its markets, physical locations, number of employees, etc., which has made an impact on the company’s overall ability to increase its revenues, investments, and profits now or in the future.

Shercom Industries

Marketing (Sponsored by Handy Special Events):
Awarded to a business demonstrating exceptional performance in marketing. Judging considers the success of a marketing program, the nature of the product and the relative size of the business.

Blue Moose Media


New Business Venture (Sponsored by Saskatchewan Polytechnic):
Awarded to a new business which has shown positive performance in terms of current or expected profitability, job creation or entrance into new markets. Judging considers financial criteria; The nature of the new venture and its impact on job creation and market expansion.



‘Saskatooning’ (Sponsored by Tourism Saskatoon):

The Saskatooning Award is presented to a business that is unique and iconic to our city which enhances the quality of life in Saskatoon. The business shares with locals and visitors alike, what it means to encompass the spirit of living in this amazing city. This can be anything from a local event, cultural experience, food, beverage, and/or restaurant, unique retail setting, or the like.

Saskatchewan Jazz Festival


Hall of Fame (Sponsored by RBC):

One individual or business will be inducted into the SABEX RBC Hall of Fame each year. An independent committee notifies the SABEX Project Team of the Hall of Fame recipient. The recipient is a long-standing member and contributes to the greater Saskatoon business community.

Gordon and Maureen Haddock, Trek 2000