The SABEX Awards - Saskatoon Achievement in Business Excellence

Presented by Nutrien 

Saskatoon and region offer many shining examples of organizations that have raised the standards for the community, industry at large and even the world in the quality of their products, services and economic and community contributions. Does this sound like your business? Help us tell the community about your business, apply for a SABEX Award today!

Frequently Asked Questions  

Information About our Adjudication Process


Nominations and Applications Open: Friday, September 15th, 2017
Nominations Close: Thursday, October 26th, 2017 at 5:00 pm
Applications Close: Thursday, November 30th, 2017 at 5:00 pm
Finalists Announced: Thursday, January 18th, 2018 9:00 AM
Gala Night:

Thursday February 8th, at Praireland Park

Cocktails: 5:00 pm

Dinner: 6:15 pm

Buy Tickets

Thank you to our sponsors

Interested in sponsoring our event?

Sponsor Sabex



SABEX Business of the Year

(Platinum Sponsor)

SABEX Customer Service Award

(Platinum Sponsor)

SABEX Entrepreneur of the Year

(Platinum Sponsor)

SABEX Small Business of the Year
SABEX Marketing
SABEX Hall of Fame
SABEX New Product or Service
SABEX Community Involvement
SABEX New Business Venture

 SABEX Global Exporter Award

SABEX Growth and Expansion






2018 Award Category Winners and Finalists:

SABEX Business of the Year (sponsored by Edwards School of Business Executive Education) - winner is chosen from finalists and will represent the best in class of the awards program, and a member of the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce.

This year, awarded to the deemed most deserved applicant of the SABEX adjudicated applications. This business will have demonstrated the highest level of business excellence from amongst all the adjudication teams' selected candidates for this award. The winner is chosen from the finalists and will represent the best in class of the awards program, and a member of the Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce

Winner: Dingwall Guitars


Customer Service Award (sponsored by Briske Financial Group Assante) goes to the business demonstrating exceptional customer service in the business categories of wholesale and retail trade, purchasing and distribution, transportation, brokering, professional service, communications, or financial. 

Winner Two Fifty Two Boutique


Capelli Salon Studio

Hino Truck Sales (Saskatoon)

GARDENS Four Seasons Landscape Design

North 49 Physical Therapy

W Bridals ~ Curvy Couture


*NEW* Entrepreneur of the Year (sponsored by North Ridge) This award will be presented to an outstanding person(s) who has/have established or expanded a business, and demonstrates the ideals of an entrepreneur 

Winner Barb Stefanyshyn-Cote & John Cote – Black Fox Farm & Distillery


Meagan Barabash – Bravo Dance Co.

Jason MacNevin – Can-Seed Equipment Ltd.

Alicia Soulier – Capelli Salon Studio

Andrey Olinov – Complete Technologies

Heather Fritz – Heather Fritz Real Estate and Photography

Holly Decker – Holly Decker Makeup Artistry

Mackenzie Firby – Two Fifty Two Boutique


Community Involvement Award (sponsored by Sasktel) goes to the business demonstrating exceptional performance in its support of the arts, culture, amateur sports and education or volunteer groups. 

Winners (TIE) Al Anderson’s Source for Sports and Vendasta


Hairstyle Inn Salons Saskatoon

Paint Nite Saskatoon

Saskatoon Funeral Home

Wiegers Financial & Benefits


Growth & Expansion Award (sponsored by Miller Thomson) goes to the business that has made significant changes in their business resulting in “Growth or “Expansion” of 15% or more of business markets, physical locations, number of employees, etc. and which in turn has made an impact on the company’s overall ability to increase its revenues, investments and profits now or in the future.

Winner: Athabasca Basin Security


Can-Seed Equipment

Go2Guys/Girls Inc.

Ixtapa Travel

Kavia Auto Body

Marketing Award (sponsored by Handy Special Events) goes to the business demonstrating exceptional performance in Marketing. 

WinnerWMCZ Lawyers


J. Mendoza & Associates

KY Fitness & Nutrition



New Business Venture Award (sponsored by Sask Polytech) goes to a new business venture which has been in existence for three years or less and which has shown positive performance in terms of current or expected profitability, job creation or entrance into new markets.

WinnerSandy Shores Resort


Boyes Group Realty Inc.

Flynn’s Forest Indoor Playground


Komfort Insulation Ltd.

LutherCare Village at Stonebridge

Road Coffee Co.

Speech Language Network, Ltd.

New Product or Service Award (sponsored by BDC) goes to the business demonstrating exceptional performance in launching a new Saskatchewan-made product, device, or service in the last three years, which is both original and currently available to customers.

Winner: Bridges Health


Bioriginal Food & Science Corp.

Create Café 3-D Printing Solutions Inc.

Lana Wickstrom, Separation Specialist

SheNative Goods Inc.

The Local Kitchen

Small Business of the Year (sponsored by MNP LLP) Awarded to a business with 15 or fewer employees. The recipient must clearly demonstrate excellence in the areas they consider key to their success, including profitability, customer service, growth and/or expansion, marketing, and employment creation. The recipient must also have been in business for a minimum of three years, with their head office located in the Saskatoon region.

Winners (TIE): Complete Technologies AND PWM Private Wealth Counsel


Creative Compliments

Donald Physiotherapy

Impact Diesel Performance

North 49 Physical Therapy Prof. Corp.

Traxx Footwear

Two Fifty Two Boutique

*NEW* Global Exporter Award (sponsored by Canpotex) recognizes a company that has achieved notable success in an export market. The award acknowledges the company’s ability to overcome obstacles in order to expand its potential markets and grow its business through export. 

Winner: Dingwall Guitars Inc.


Bioriginal Food & Science Corp.


*NEW* The "SASKATOONING" Award - A uniquely local experience (Sponsored by Tourism Saskatoon) is awarded to a business that is unique and iconic to our city and enhances the quality of life in Saskatoon. The business shares with locals and visitors alike what it means to encompass the spirit of living in this amazing city. This includes anything from a local event, cultural experience, food, beverage, and/or restaurant, or unique retail setting or the like. Open to non-profits as well. 

Winner: Prairie River Cruises Ltd.


d’lish by Tish Café

Escape Sports

SaskMade Marketplace

Wanuskewin Heritage Park


Hall of Fame Inductee (Sponsored by RBC Royal Bank):

One individual or business will be inducted into the SABEX Hall of Fame each year. An independent committee notifies the SABEX Committee of the recipient. The recipient will be a long-standing member of the Saskatoon region business community.

Hall of Fame Inductee: Merlis Belsher

Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce


Vote 2016